CAN PAIN BE GOOD

I know that look. Can pain and good be in the same sentence really? So ironic -right? well let me give you a short story about my experience.

I currently work for an aviation company and everyone had to do medical exams since there was a medical camp. Anything to remind me of how unhealthy I am ain’t my cup of tea but it was mandatory. So, not wanting to blemish my otherwise clean probation record( I was new in the job), I set out for all the tests in the morning.

After waiting for some few minutes, I had my turn and went through the normal tests : blood pressure,weight,eyesight…. and the list continues. I was amazed at how grown men were afraid of needles. I had so much fun mocking some of them seeing they were my colleagues, it was so hilarious. I was shocked as I even got my teeth checked and that is where my misery begun. I was slapped with 2 teeth removals, 5 teeth fillings and an overall cleaning of my teeth recommendation! I must say I wasn’t shocked having experienced some teeth discomfort a while back but just ignoring it. The dentist emphasized on the urgency for the procedures since he said they would spread to other teeth if not treated. That was the last nail on the coffin. So I decided that I would start the procedures asap to avoid any further damage. The most urgent being the tooth removals, I booked an appointment with one of the clinics for the following day.

One month later, I was still psyching myself to go for the procedure. Please don’t give me that look. I know it was cheeky of me but it was like a cow taking herself to the slaughterhouse. I kept telling myself I would go the following day but that day never came. For once in my life, I really wished it was painful since I didn’t have anything to motivate me to go for the procedure. My husband and colleagues were irritated and it got to a point where they all threatened me. Gosh, I didn’t have any motivation at all! What scared me the most was the memory of my last procedure as it was excruciating to say the least. Being an optimist and all, I still needed a lot of convincing that this time the procedure would be slightly less painful and not having a toothache didn’t make things any easier for me. The threats finally worked. I said my prayers and went for the procedure finally.

My experience made me realize something significant in my life. Pain is actually good. Labor pains signify the beginning of a new life, storms always lead to a beautiful sunshine afterwards,the darkest time is always before the brink of dawn, I can go on and on but the amazing thing is that pain is actually necessary for you to enjoy and understand the aftermath of it. I know there is pain that can never be fully understood like losing a loved one, but the important thing is taking the lesson and making something positive out of it. Lets not focus on the why but rather what next. Its painful what Jesus had to go through but it was necessary for salvation to be attained and it served as an example to all Christians that the path is not all rosy but difficult. Just staying positive is usually the difference between a victor and a loser. Do you look at the glass as half full or as half empty? Why don’t you digest on that abit?

Still interested in knowing how my procedure finally went? I thought so. believe it or not, it was painless. I didn’t believe it myself. I know you may wonder what my threshold of pain is but I guarantee you its really high. I know firsthand what real pain is having naturally given birth to my two lovely munchkins naturally and the first born had to be induced for full dilation to occur. So it was an eye opening experience for me and I came to appreciate every little bit of it.

I am an optimist. That is one of my key selling points in my CV. When I get asked why, I simply tell the interviewer that challenging experiences make me a better employee and better equipped to handle unforeseen circumstances. Better pilots are those who have gone through life changing experiences and it makes you an optimist by experience seeing that you already have a pedestal for bench marking it.  I firmly believe that whoever came up with the saying that experience is the best teacher, had this in mind.

Nearly crossing the decade mark in my marriage, my husband and I have had to go through numerous ups and downs. Hell, if you asked me a few years back if I thought we would even peek at almost a decade, I would have laughed like when Sarah was told she would give birth past menopause. Yes I seriously would have burst in a serious fit of laughter. But the most amazing thing is every time we both cross a bridge in our lives, it would cement our union even further. That’s actually the beauty of marriage, going through experiences together and coming out victoriously makes it all worth it. Moreover, it makes you equipped to handle even harder ones ahead. I remember once joking with my husband after going through a difficult period in our lives that if we went through a worse situation, this would just be a walk in the park. This just further goes to explain why pain is actually good. Imagine a world without pain, we would never appreciate the aftermath at all.

As I wind up, I would like to encourage any and all of us going through whatever Goliaths’ in our lives. Pain is actually good. Its inevitable but how we choose to react to it is what is what matters. A fellow blogger like me made me understand first hand how he chose to ignore the pain he was going through so that he could raise funds for a greater cause. It really inspired me to rise above any situation in my life and I trust that we all can. Attitude is what matters!

Leave a comment